Finalising Project 1

So after a lot of trial and error, I’ve come up with a few images which I am quite happy with. Initially I was struggling with reconciling the material (concrete) and the meaning behind the word honest. I explored different ways of approaching it, including using thread, which ended up losing the meaning of the material. In the end I felt that retaking some photos using light shone through a stencil highlighted the dirtiness of the concrete, which is where its honesty lies.

1_upload

5_upload

6_upload.jpg

These are my three final shots. I’ve included a lot of patination in the concrete I chose for the composition to highlight that this is how concrete acts as a material – it weathers, ages and becomes imperfect – and there is beauty in the material because of this.

Any feedback on which photo I should choose is welcome!

 

 

Leave a Reply

